Quick Turkey Chili

I sometimes like to push my husband’s boundaries when it comes to spicy food. Generally he won’t eat anything that has any more spice that what most people would call ‘mild’. I think with this chili I did push him further than mild, but certainly not into the realms of very spicy!

I served this chili with a Zucchini Corn Bread that I made on the same day. I know, zucchini again, I’m sorry. But my vegetable patch keeps growing them….there are still 3 in my fridge, but I will endeavour to use them on non-blog food!

Ingredients – serves 4-6:

  • 500g/18oz turkey mince (ground)
  • oil (either vegetable or olive)
  • 1/2 a small brown onion, chopped
  • 1 chorizo sausage (about 125g/4oz), sliced
  • 1 packet Old El Paso Chili seasoning
  • 1 can (400g/14oz) diced tomatoes
  • 1 can (400g/14oz) mixed beans (I used a four bean mix containing cannellini beans, chick peas, butter beans and red kidney beans)
  • 1 small can (200g/7oz) red kidney beans

Method:

  • Heat the oil in a large frying pan. Add the onion and cook for 3 minutes or until softened.
  • Add the sliced chorizo and cook for 2 minutes.
  • Then put the turkey mince into the pan, stir to break up any lumps and cook until browned (about 5 minutes).
  • Sprinkle the chili seasoning over the mixture and stir to combine. Cook for 1 minute until fragrant.
  • Add the tomatoes and beans to the pan. Cook on a low heat, stirring, for 15 minutes.
  • Serve and enjoy!

This entry was posted in Mains and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Quick Turkey Chili

  1. Pingback: Zucchini Corn Bread | Recipe Adaptors

Leave a Reply

