Cheat’s Paella

I’ve never made Paella before. I don’t know why that is the case because I love all the ingredients. I guess it is just one of those dishes that I have seen done but then thought it was too much hassle for a normal weeknight dinner.

But that is no longer the case, I am pleased to say. I found this recipe on the BBC Good Food website (I seem to be finding a lot of good recipes on that site lately!). I have adapted it slightly to make it suitable for a weeknight dinner for 2.

You can use whatever seafood you prefer – if you have any seafood in your freezer then that is ideal, but make sure it is defrosted before you add it to the pan.

Ingredients – serves 2:

  • 1 tbsp oil (olive or vegetable)
  • 1 small onion, finely chopped
  • 1 chorizo sausage (approx 125g/4oz), sliced
  • 1/2 teaspoon turmeric
  • 175g/6oz long grain white rice
  • 500ml/1 pint chicken stock
  • 100g/3.5oz frozen peas
  • 4 small chunks white fish (I used Basa pieces as I had a bag of them in the freezer)
  • 16 cooked prawns (shrimps), peeled and de-veined (I used frozen prawns that I defrosted)

Method:

  • Heat the oil in a large, deep frying pan.
  • Add the chopped onion and fry for 4-5 minutes or until softened.
  • Throw in the sliced chorizo and cook until it releases its oil.

  • Meanwhile, heat the stock. I put mine in a microwave safe jug and microwaved in 30-second bursts until it was hot.
  • Add the rice and the turmeric to the frying pan, stirring to make sure that all the rice is coated in the oil from the chorizo.

  • Pour in the hot stock, then bring to the boil.
  • Turn down the heat and simmer for about 15 minutes. After that time, try the rice. If it is still a little crunchy, cook for a 2-3 minutes longer – if necessary you can add a small amount of hot water to make sure that the rice doesn’t dry out.
  • Add the peas and stir through, then place the pieces of white fish in the pan and cover with the rice mix. This helps the fish pick up the flavours. Cook for 5 minutes.

  • Stir through the prawns and cook for a final 2 minutes.
  • Enjoy!

This entry was posted in Mains and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

