Perth Good Food & Wine Show

I’m late with posting this weekend because I spent all day yesterday at the Perth Good Food & Wine Show.

It was the first time that I had been to the show, and I was surprised at how busy it was. That could be something to do with the number of wineries that were offering free samples from their stands – for the $31 ticket price you could drink your way around wineries from the Swan Valley, Perth’s Hills, Margaret River, Barossa Valley, McLaren Vale and also some from New Zealand. I think there were actually more winery stands than there were food stands. Our favourite winery from the Swan Valley is Windy Creek and they had a stand which was very busy every time we walked past. My husband also decided that he liked the red wines from the Landhaus Estate in the Barossa.

Lunch came from Andy’s Bratwurst Hut. I have never seen frying pans as big as the ones they were using to cook up the brats, but also something else I have never seen were the attachments to their mustard and ketchup bottles – they looked like a cow’s udder! It did seem to work very well and with no mess.

The day had quite a few highlights for me. The folks at the Barilla pasta stand were running cook-off competitions (there were 3 during the day), so I entered the morning session along with 2 other contestants. We were given the recipe and ingredients, so all we had to do was cook. The resulting food was then divided up into tiny portions and fed to the crowd, who had to vote for the winner. It was good fun, and the best bit was that I won! My prize was one of Barilla’s Gourmet Hampers. The photo below shows the stage – I am on the far right, luckily mostly hidden by the steam from the pasta cookers!

I also got to meet a couple of Australia’s TV cooking competition participants. The first was Isabella Jakubiak who, (with her sister Sammy), won the latest series of Channel 7’s My Kitchen Rules. Isabella was on the Barilla stand. She is a tiny lady!

Me and Isabella from MKR

But the best part of the day was when I met Marion Grasby from the 2010 series of MasterChef Australia. She didn’t win the competition but she was by far the best, (in my opinion anyway!), so I told her that she should have won. Marion was at the show promoting her new book.

Marion Grasby and me

I also saw quite a few of the Australian TV celebrity chefs, but they are famous enough already.

So it was a great day out, and plenty of food and wine was consumed!

This entry was posted in General and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Perth Good Food & Wine Show

  1. Came across your blog as I’m new to the blogging world. You’ve got some great recipes, very inspirational so will look forward to reading about more of your creations. I live in the UK with my husband and I’m trying to recreate as many dishes from SE Asia or around the world as possible. Would love it if you’d take a look at my recipes and let me know what you think. I’ve added you to my blogroll and hope you’ll do the same if you like what I’m producing. Happy cooking! http://thebigfatnoodle.com

Leave a Reply

