Marmalade Sponge Cake

Traditionally sponge cakes, like the famous Victoria Sponge, have been sandwiched together with jam (jelly for those of you in the USA). But why not use marmalade instead?

Using marmalade really gives this cake a nice citrus zing which makes it quite refreshing to eat. Marmalade usually isn’t one of my favourite food items, but in this I really love it. The cake is also very easy to make and it rose beautifully with very little effort on my part! 

I adapted this recipe from one that I found in ‘The Little Book of Treats’ which is a fundraising recipe book for Macmillan Cancer Support (a UK charity). My Mum bought me a copy of this as a gift, and I must say that I am very impressed with it. For just £3 it really is a bargain and supports a charity at the same time.

This cake is best on the day that you make it, but it will keep for 2-3 days in an airtight container in a cool place.

Ingredients:

  • 225g/8 oz unsalted butter, softened
  • 225g/8 oz sugar
  • 4 eggs
  • 2 tbsp water
  • 2 tbsp marmalade (I used orange but you could use any variety)
  • 225g/8 oz self-raising flour

Icing/Filling:

  • 150g/5 oz unsalted butter, softened
  • 300g/10 oz icing (powdered) sugar, sifted
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 tbsp marmalade (to put in the icing)
  • 6 tbsp marmalade (to sandwich together the cakes)
  • orange zest, optional, to decorate

Method:

  • Heat your oven to 190C/170C fan forced/370F.
  • Spray two 20cm/7 inch cake pans with cooking spray and line the bases with baking paper. (I used springform pans as it makes it easier to remove the cakes.)
  • In a large mixing bowl, beat together the butter and sugar until creamy. (I used my electric mixer to do this but you could do it by hand.)
  • Add the eggs one at a time, beating after each one until combined.
  • Add the water and marmalade and stir until combined.
  • Mix in the flour and beat until smooth.
  • Divide the cake batter between the two prepared pans and smooth the top of the batter using a flat bladed knife or spatula.
  • Bake for 20-25 minutes or until golden. You can test with a skewer if you are unsure.
  • Remove the sponges from the pan and cool on a wire rack.
  • To make the icing, beat together the butter, icing sugar, vanilla and 1 tbsp marmalade until you get a soft consistency.
  • When the cakes are cool, place one on a serving plate, spread the 6tbsp marmalade over the top and then spread on about a third of the icing.
  • Sandwich the other cake on top of the filling, then spread over the remaining icing.
  • Top with some orange zest, if you have any.
  • Serve and enjoy!

This entry was posted in Baking and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Marmalade Sponge Cake

  1. Looks yummy, really nice idea! I can image this is a great cake with a bitter-sweet touch, good to serve to people that don’t have a big tweet tooth. 🙂

  2. Oh my gosh, that cake looks amazing! I am so glad I found your blog and I love the way you write. 😉

  3. Pingback: Bitter Sweet Orange Marmalade Cupcakes | ediblesubstance

  4. This looks amazing. I might have to get that Book of Treats as well… Until I get it I’ll use your version!

  5. marthabernie says:

    Reblogged this on homethoughtsfromabroad626 and commented:
    Something different to try…

  6. Pingback: Australia’s Biggest Morning Tea: Baking to raise funds | Recipe Adaptors

Leave a Reply

