Blueberry and Coconut Loaf Cake

This loaf is moist and berry-licious.

This recipe came to life because I bought a packet of frozen blueberries – they were on a half-price special at the supermarket. I was thinking about making muffins but really I wanted to do something a bit different.

After searching the pantry I found the packet of dessicated coconut that I had bought to make the Giant Anzac Biscuits at the end of last month. Then I found a banana bread recipe in my copy of  ‘The Little Book of Treats’  – a fundraising recipe book for Macmillan Cancer Support (a UK charity).

Bingo.

The result is this easy to make cake which is great for an afternoon treat, or could even pass as breakfast. Who doesn’t love a cake that you can eat for breakfast?

Ingredients:

  • 125g/4.5 oz white sugar
  • 60ml/2 oz vegetable oil
  • 200g/7 oz frozen blueberries, thawed
  • 1/2 cup fine dessicated coconut
  • 190g/6.5 oz plain (all-purpose) flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon bicarbonate of soda
  • 1/4 cup light sour cream
  • 1 egg, beaten
  • 1/2 tbsp honey

Method:

  • Heat your oven to 160C/140C fan forced/320F and grease a loaf pan (I used a silicon one – so easy).
  • In a large bowl, mix together the sugar and the oil, then stir in the blueberries and coconut.
  • Put the rest of the ingredients into the bowl and stir until everything is well combined. The mixture will probably be an interesting blue colour.
  • Spoon the mix into the loaf pan and use a knife to level the top.
  • Bake for an hour until golden and a skewer inserted into the centre comes out clean.
  • Turn the cake onto a wire rack and leave to cool for at least 10 minutes.
  • Slice up and serve whilst still warm, or leave until completely cool if you prefer. (You can also store this in an airtight container for a few days, if necessary.)
  • Enjoy!

This entry was posted in Baking and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Blueberry and Coconut Loaf Cake

  1. Your loaf cake looks so moist and delicious. I love the sound of the combination of blueberry and coconut and I think the blueberries bursting into the sponge look gorgeous. Thanks for sharing the great recipe

  2. I don’t use coconut often enough in baking. I want to try coconut flour at some point, it sounds interesting. This loaf looks absolutely delicious :D.

    • Thanks. Up until recently I wasn’t a coconut fan, but I’ve loved everyhing I’ve made with it. I’ve not seen coconut flour before – sounds interesting.

  3. Oh my goodness! Blueberries and Coconut! How delicious! The loaf is beautiful!

  4. Ning says:

    It is so yummy Vicky!! Can’t beleive Blueberries would go well with coconute ^^ Thanks again for baking me two cakes on my b’day.

Leave a Reply

