What’s your favourite kitchen gadget?

For today’s post I thought that I would do something a little bit different to sharing a recipe.

Instead I thought I would share a little bit of my kitchen – I’ll tell you about some of the ‘gadgets’ that I have and now can’t cook without. In return I would love to hear about your favourite kitchen gadgets, whether they are modern electrical items or old fashioned heirlooms that have been passed through your family. I’m not technical enough to set up a poll, (and I find that often you don’t learn much from their limited results), so please leave a comment if you would like to share your thoughts on this subject.

Before I start, please know that I am by no means trying to advertise any particular product or brand and I would appreciate it if you would follow the same ethos as much as you can. Most things I own don’t even have a brand name!

In my kitchen I have quite a few ‘helpers’. I’ve actually got two food processors and two blenders. What can I say – I am a kitchen hoarder 😉 . I just can’t throw away the old food processor, even though I haven’t touched it since the new one got unpacked. You never know when I might need it. After all, what would happen if the new one decides to break half way through a critical recipe (which would be just my luck). I have a better excuse for having two blenders – one of them has a tap on it so that makes it ideal for cocktails! Then there is also my little stick mixer (immersion blender), which is ideal for soups.

As you may have noticed recently, my slow cooker gets a regular work out. It has quite a large capacity, which makes it ideal when I know I have to feed a crowd or if I want lots of left-overs for easy lunches.

I also love my little bread maker, although I must admit that I use it a lot less now than I did when I first bought it as I have edged towards recipes for more free-form loaves. The same goes for my pasta rolling machine – my husband has actually used that more than I have (he is an expert at home-made pasta now!).

One major purchase I made last year, and now my official favourite kitchen gadget, is my electric mixer. Here in Australia these things cost an arm and a leg, so it really was a big purchase for me. However, I have used it loads so my husband isn’t in as much pain about it now as he was when he saw the store receipt!

I think that pretty much covers my gadgets (as I won’t get started on my collection of baking pans!). So, what vital piece of equipment do you have in your kitchen that I am missing out on?

This entry was posted in General and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What’s your favourite kitchen gadget?

  1. LMATHEW says:

    My panini press. i have one with removable plates that can be washed in the dishwasher (a major plus) and it even opens up flat to double as a griddle or grill.

    • We’ve got an old fashioned sandwich toaster (mainly my husband uses it for his lunch), but I must admit I have considered replacing it with a panini press. Being able to put the plate in the dishwasher sounds great! 🙂

Leave a Reply

