Pork, Apple and Fennel Sliders

These tasty little bites are great for a BBQ lunch.

I love trying out different flavours for burgers and these combine the classic pairing of pork and apple with some fennel to give them a whole new dimension. I first discovered fennel when I made this soup, and now I use it as often as I can.

If you don’t like onion then these burgers are for you because there isn’t any! I don’t think they need any cheese on top either, although a big dollop of mayo tops them off pretty nicely.

I served my sliders with some shredded rainbow chard from my garden. I find that this is a great substitute for normal salad leaves, but if you can’t get it then baby spinach would go pretty well with these.

Sliders are such cute little burgers but here in Austraila it can be hard to find bread rolls, (buns to those of you in the States), that are the right size. It therefore wasn’t a difficult decision to make my own – they turned out beautifully, even if I do say so myself. I’ll share the recipe on Wednesday because I think they deserve to be a post in their own right.

Ingredients – makes 8 burgers:

  • 1 apple, peeled, cored and finely diced
  • 1/4 large fennel bulb, finely diced
  • 2 garlic cloves, crushed
  • black pepper, to season
  • approx 750g/26 oz pork mince (ground)
  • bread rolls, salad leaves and mayonnaise, to serve

Method:

  • Put the apple, fennel, garlic and a good sprinkling of black pepper in a large bowl and stir to combine.
  • Add the pork mince and then use your clean hands to combine all the ingredients together.
  • Form handfuls of the mixture into patties and place on a plate. You will easily get 8 patties from the mixture, maybe a couple more.
  • Cover the plate in cling wrap and refrigerate for at least 30 minutes.
  • Heat your BBQ grill to medium-high and then cook the burgers for 8-10 minutes on each side, or until cooked through.
  • Split your bread rolls in half, add some salad and then top with a slider. Put a dollop of mayonnaise on top.
  • Serve and enjoy!

This entry was posted in Mains and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Pork, Apple and Fennel Sliders

  1. Pingback: Fennel Seed and Black Pepper Bread Rolls | Recipe Adaptors

  2. Pingback: 4th July: BBQ Recipe round-up | Recipe Adaptors

  3. Pingback: Outdoor Kitchen: Favourite BBQ recipes | Recipe Adaptors

Leave a Reply

