Mushroom and Avocado on Toast with Fried Egg

So simple but yet so tasty.

An avocado isn’t something that I buy often as they can be pretty pricey even when in season. However, I had one left over from another recipe and needed to use it before it went too mushy. Hence this breakfast option was born.

Also, I must say that this isn’t even really a recipe so forgive me 🙂 It was so good and so pretty that I had to share it. My husband isn’t a fan of either mushrooms or avocado but he cleaned his plate so I will take that as his agreement.

I put half an avocado on each of our plates but you could easily split that again to feed 4.

Ingredients – breakfast for 2:

  • 6 button mushrooms, sliced
  • little drizzle of extra virgin olive oil
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 slices toast, thinly spread with margarine or butter
  • 1 avocado, at room temperature, halved, peeled and thinly sliced
  • freshly ground black pepper, to season

Method:

  • Spray a frying pan with a little cooking spray and place over a medium-high heat.
  • Put the mushrooms in the pan in a single layer. Drizzle over a little extra virgin olive oil. Cook for a minute then flip the mushrooms onto their opposite sides. Cook for 30 seconds then remove and place on a plate.
  • Add your eggs to the pan and fry to your liking. (You shouldn’t need to add any extra oil.)
  • Put one slice of toast on each of your serving plates and divide the mushrooms between them.
  • Top with the avocado slices and then the fried egg.
  • Season well with freshly ground black pepper just before serving.
  • Enjoy!

This entry was posted in Mains, Snacks and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Mushroom and Avocado on Toast with Fried Egg

  1. Carolina says:

    this sounds like a good suggestions for a meal, I wish I had mushrooms and avocado at home and it would actually be my dinner! Thanks for the simple and I’m sure tasty idea! 🙂

  2. Simple and delicious – my kind of breakfast! Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

